Introduction to This Blog


Hi, I’m known on forums as Quercus Robur.  I’m going to teach you all that I know and in forty days you’ll be a real witch.

Er, no.  It doesn’t work like that.

Firstly, to become a witch takes a lot of reading, being taught and trying things out.  Yes, you can read a book, but you will not fully understand what you have read until you have tried it out.  What you are reading is the theory.  To become a witch you need practice and experience.

Secondly, there will be things that I don’t want to share with you.  Some of them are too personal and/or private to share.  Others I feel are simply not meant to be shared.

Thirdly, I don’t feel I know enough to call myself a witch.  I’ve called this blog “What Witches Do” because it deals with things that witches do.  I’m still learning new things every day.

I’d also like people to remember that what I am telling you about is my own practice.  Other people’s practises, views and opinions will definitely vary.  I have thought for a long time that the only true answer to the question “what is your path?” is “my own” as even people who follow the same path will have different practises.

This is because people have different talents.  One may be talented at divination, while being not much good in the kitchen.  Another may be able to whip up a five-star meal, but not much good at divination.

People are individuals, and this is what makes everyone’s practice different.  Even in the same path people read different books or use different systems of divination.  One person may find the tarot the best system for them, while another may favour the runes.

Leave a Reply

