Meditation


I first started meditating in a psychic group in 1997 when I lived in Portsmouth.  This was your standard guided meditation.  I bought a tape the leader made and after leaving Portsmouth in February 1998 played it on and off – mostly off.

Some years ago I picked it up in earnest when I learnt of Immramic mediation.  It’s an Irish journeying meditation, and if you want to know more about it, http://eblannaraven.com/ is the best one.

In May of this year (or thereabouts) I was asked by The Morrigan if I wanted to be taught by her.  I considered the invitation and told her that I couldn’t at the moment as we were moving house and I wouldn’t have enough time to properly devote to it.  About a month after we moved house I was given a large hint by an entry in The Witch of Forest Grove’s blog http://witchofforestgrove.com/2010/08/28/botanica-burnt-offerings/ where she said that anyone who did not accept a deity’s teaching request would have things go wrong in their life.  Of course I went back to The Morrigan, accepted and thanked her for the reminder.

So at the moment I do one teaching meditation a week, plus an Immramic one with my study partner.

Meditation is not always easy.  I’ve found you get the best results with all phones off and the curtains drawn.  You also need to make yourself comfortable.  If you have any aches and pains, make sure the parts of the body that ache are comfortable.  This is best done by lying down and if you are still aching, put a small, rolled-up towel to support the part that is aching.  If it’s a headache you have, don’t bother trying to meditate.  Leave it till the headache has gone away.

I always count down from ten when going into a mediation and count up to ten when coming out.  It is the way I my leader did it in Portsmouth and I use it because I never count up or down to ten in my normal life, so doing it only for meditation gets my brain into a meditative state.

When I get my aromatherapy oils out of storage I will experiment with various blends and inform you how it goes.  It may also be that certain blends are best for meeting various deities, so I’ll avoid using anything when I’m going to meet The Morrigan (until I know better) as I don’t want to annoy her.  Besides which, this means that one night I have a meditation without a blend (a as control) and the next night one with a blend, so I’ll be able to compare.

Sometimes meditation attracts what I’ll call undesirables.  You’re talking to someone in meditation and you get the feeling that things are not quite right.  It’s then that I protect myself and the entity has always screamed and gone away.  I’m going to try making a circle each time I meditate, as in my ‘umble opinion it’s better not to meet these things at all.  I don’t know what these undesirables are or what they want and I’d prefer not to find out.

Four times I’ve had the feeling that something in a meditation isn’t right.  Three times it turned out to be undesirables and the fourth was Angus Óg (Irish god) pratting about pretending to be Herne the Hunter!  I told him “hang on, you’re not Herne the Hunter” and he took off the headdress and laughed.  I wonder how many people he’s fooled into believing he’s Herne…

Leave a Reply

