The Druids


This is a book on the druids as seen by the Roman Empire.  It compares and contrasts accounts of the druids from the Graeco-Roman period and also concerns itself about what was going on in that period of the time.

This book will be very interesting to anyone who has studied accounts of druids by the Graeco-Romans, but unfortunately this is the first book I have read on the druids and I found myself losing interest in the book.  Obviously I need to read more about what was written about the druids by the Graeco-Romans and then come back to this book.

I did find the part on the etymology of the word “druid” interesting: it seems that scholars have cast doubt on the fact that it is tied to the oak.

This book is interesting from a scholarly perspective; from a pagan perspective it will not do anything to improve your practice of paganism.

3 Comments

  1. bwitch said,

    February 1, 2011 at 5:58 am

    Perhaps I missed it, but do you have an author or ISBN for this book?

    • February 1, 2011 at 11:26 am

      I’m sorry I didn’t put the author in the review, The Druids is written by Nora K. Chadwick.

  2. bwitch said,

    March 6, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Thank you. I think I have that on my shelves, but have not read it yet.


Leave a Reply

