Staying True to my Path


On a message board I’m on someone asked how we stay true to our path and not become eclectic.  Being an Irish practitioner, there is no one path laid down to follow, no prescribed route to take and no holy book that hasn’t been tampered with.

I read the texts and other books associated with my path.  Some of them are useful and some of them have little or no clues to my path.  I give the books marked “pagan” a miss unless someone else has recommended them.  A lot of them have inaccuracies I can spot a mile off and aren’t worth the paper they’re printed on.

I tend to stick to books which are in the archaeology and myths & legends sections or a translated Irish text.  The Irish texts I usually order from the library.  In my local library it costs £1 if they buy the book or the book is in the county, but the Irish texts normally come from a university and cost £2.50 because they’re out of the county.

I also meditate weekly, using Immramic meditation (see http://eblannaraven.com/intro.htm) and meeting one of my deities who is teaching me.  And most importantly, I think about things and ask questions, one of which is : “is this correct for my path?”

Some things, like charm bracelets and Graeco-Romanic astrology I have to bring in from outside, as there is nothing in the Irish ways to fill the gap.  The charm bracelet holds any spells I need on a day-to-day basis and the druids did consult astrology, so there is a legitimate reason to fill the gap with things from other cultures.

Unfortunately there is no record of what astrology the Irish druids used.  The Celtic Tree astrology is not astrology, as astrology needs to be a lot more complex than which tree you were born under.  It also only dates as far back as Robert Graves.

Other things, like spirit guides, I don’t need.  I have my deities to guide me and teach me things.  Some lessons come easier than others, but I am grateful for the time these deities are putting into me.

This path is a long, hard slog to find the crumbs that we have been left with and make them into a whole path.  But it’s been rewarding doing it and if I gave it up tomorrow, I still would not regret it.

2 Comments

  1. sarastar said,

    January 29, 2011 at 12:10 am

    I am really glad to see your updates. I am getting bored without my TW board so I am happy anytime a TWer posts in their blog. I have Hengreh’s blog, and Lolair’s, do you know if anyone else blogs? I art blog, I used to witch blog, but I stopped.

    It is interesting how astrology was standardized at some point. I am excited anytime I find out even a smidgen about an old pagan constellation. Like Aironrhod’s castle, or Constellation of Tarandus vel Rangifer in Bode’s Uranographia (1801). I have never read anything of Irish constellations, please let me know if you ever see anything.


Leave a Reply

