Hawthorns, Bluebells and Forsythia


<At the weekend we walked in the old wood where the forest floor is carpeted in bluebells. It’s a magnificent sight to behold, with the sweet scent of the bluebells rising off the forest floor. I also saw garlic mustard and ground ivy plants, speckled wood and orange tip butterflies in the forest. The sun was out, the birds were calling and it was a lovely walk.

The old part of the forest is still very unfriendly to people. I did talk to it, but it distrusts people so much now that it will take time and offerings before it trusts anyone again.

We also pruned most of the forsythia in the garden. There were some nice pieces I could have dried and made a wand out of, but it’s so inimical to humans I would not have dared to use the wand. Since I want the forsythia to remain part of the garden I will have to do something about this. Pruning is part of it, as the forsythia feels uncared for as it hasn’t been pruned for years. A lot of shrubs can do well without any pruning, but forsythia really needs to be pruned or it becomes straggly.

In the new part of the forest I gave an offering to our tribal tree and picked hawthorn blossom to make a hawthorn liqueur, with the hawthorn taking its usual offering of my blood. If I like the taste of the liqueur I’ll make a batch for ritual next year. I also tried to make hawthorn chutney from hawthorns I had frozen in the freezer, but that went badly and I ended up tipping the food in the bin. I’ll give it another try when the hawthorns are next out.

Leave a Reply

