Midsummer


I celebrated Midsummer last night.  I usually take the day off for festivals, but Midsummer crept up on me and I only remembered to book the day off when it was too late to do so.  So last night we did a small celebration to honour the goddess Áine.

Midsummer is Áine’s day and the traditional way to celebrate was to light torches to her and then parade the torch round the house to protect against sickness and disease and to ensure fertility for the year ahead.

We lit one tealight, which is the modern equivalent of a torch, at my altar and then we paraded it around the house.  In hindsight, I should have paraded it around the garden as well.

1 Comment

  1. bwitch said,

    June 22, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    I, too, forgot to book the day/night before off until it was too late. I did remember to watch the sunrise, though the view is mostly blocked by woodland. Somehow, this year, Midsummer passed me by; however I have a back-up for the 24th June.


Leave a Reply

