Halfway Through Making a Stang


I am in the process of making a stang, which unfortunately is getting interrupted by This Damn Wedding of mine.

I have oak wood for the stang, which was given to me by a tree I often talked to.  The wood is split into three pieces, which I will put together by dowel rods.  It’s being delayed because I first have to make a water blessing so I can give the tree I take them from an offering.  The wood for the main body of the stang was lying in the water, so I did not have to make an offering.  Then I will have to wait for the wood for the dowel rods to dry and carve out the spaces for the rods in the wood which will make up the body of the stang.

I was told by one of my goddesses that I was to attach the bones of the sea, the bones of the earth and the bones of the air to my stang.  I was given a mouse and four birds courtesy of my cat.  Normally there is nothing strange in this, but before now my cat had caught three birds in the entire eight years I have had her.

I have to wait for the mouse and birds to decompose so I can attach the bones to the stang, some of which are going to be put between the pieces of wood.  I have seashells for the bones of the sea, but need something to cut the shells up so they look like bones instead of shells.

After that I need an antler for the top and a nail for the bottom and it will be finished.  Unfortunately this is not a quick project and is even slower with wedding s**t intruding upon it.  I want to get it finished this year (my year begins at the Spring Equinox) but I am not sure this will happen.

4 Comments

  1. bwitch said,

    July 13, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Best wishes for your upcoming nuptials.

  2. sunny said,

    August 25, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    hi, I posted on your other stang entery. A few ways I was thinking you could cut the shells is
    1) A dremel – they’re not that exspensive i got mine for about $20 and it comes with a few beginner pieces.
    2) A small hand saw, it would take longer then the dremel. After you get the shape you want you could then sand the edges.
    3) You could grind the shells into a powder and mix with clay – if you want something natural it could be flour & salt mixed with a little water.

  3. August 26, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    Thanks for posting that, I’ll look out for a dremel. How would you grind the shells into powder and would you use them as paint?

  4. Sunny said,

    September 30, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Sorry it took so long for me to respond, my computer time has been really cut down since my computer got funky.
    Well to gind the shells you could do a few things. Place in a burlap bag and hit with a hammer. (Thats how I make brick dust), Maybe if you have a coffee grinder? I would think that it wouldn’t have to be extra fine, just broken up small.
    As far as painting – you could use enamal paint like for models? I know the toy store here has them for like $1.
    Try it out on a practise shell first would be my best suggestion.


Leave a Reply

