To do, to Dare and to Keep Silent Part 1


Some people will have heard this maxim for a witch, as it’s oft quoted on the net. I thought I’d take some time to think about it and write my thoughts here.

The first part of this triad is “to do”. As most people have worked out, it’s getting off your backside and doing things.

I have known a lot of solitary pagans/witches who say something like “I just went out for a walk to celebrate the last festival”. There are things that stop us from practicing witchcraft and paganism and relegate us to the armchair. Illness, family problems and getting married are some of the things that can stop us practicing. I have known a lot of people who do not have a good reason and still don’t celebrate.

It doesn’t take much to do a small ritual indoors or outdoors that taken ten minutes for a festival. It’s only by doing things that we progress in this craft and actually get there. As I wrote in my previous post, it’s like cooking : you can read all the books in the world, but you don’t know anything until you actually try to do it.

1 Comment

  1. October 6, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    I really appreciate this article. After years of reading and walking while I raised a busy family, dealt with losses and lack of privacy. In the past few months, as my life finally began to fall into place, I’ve been enjoyiing ritual. I’m still getting used to it; I’m learning how to raise the power properly instead of on the fly when and if I have time. With children all grown and a partner who gives me the space I need to practice, I feel blessed and am glad not to be so much of an armchair witch reading and dreaming instead of doing and studying. 😀


Leave a Reply

