To do, to Dare and to Keep Silent Part Two


The second part of this triad is to dare. Witchcraft and paganism are both dangerous. There is so much that can go wrong, and I have found that while elsewhere you may get away with a mistake, in witchcraft and paganism I have never got away with one.

Daring is difficult. We have to weigh up carefully whether what we are doing is a good idea or not and sometimes I can err on the side of caution, while at other times I can err on the side of risk. Some people, like the student I heard about who studied witchcraft for eight years and never cast a spell, can never take the plunge, while others take too many risks.

I minimise risks by protecting myself whenever possible : with my charm bracelet (which unfortunately needs to be mended) and drawing circles. I also research the subject and take classes on it if I’m not sure what I’m doing and do divination before casting spells.

I haven’t got into herbal remedies, because I’m on medication with which many other medications are contra-indicated and it’s too risky. Some herbal remedies can stop medicines working and unfortunately I have not yet found a scientific herbal that will inform you of this.

1 Comment

  1. October 13, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    I agree, I do not take the plunge often, not without considering the outcome and if this is a whim or something that I need to do. I will not cast when I am angry, it’s just too bumpy and too dangerous for everyone including myself.


Leave a Reply

