Candle-Making Course


A couple of Sundays ago I went to a candle-making course at Treadwell’s bookshop in London.

The class was divided into two groups and I ended up with the group that was learning how to make candles by dipping. Dipping takes a long time, but you can build up layers of magical intent with dipping.

Making candles by pouring wax into moulds, which we did next, is the easier and quicker way, but you would have to inscribe your intent on the candle.

The third way to make candles is to get a sheet of beeswax and roll it up with a wick in the middle to form a candle.

I enjoyed this class and will certainly be using my knowledge to make candles for ritual in the future. I’m not sure if I will be making them for candle magic, as I’ve never really got on with candle magic.

2 Comments

  1. Sìle said,

    November 13, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    I was supposed to attend that course, but had to work overtime. If it comes up again, I’ll rebook.

  2. Sunny said,

    November 22, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    I LOVE candle making. Dipping does take a long time, but I’ve sprinkled powders between the dipps, anointed oils as well. Its a process but one that makes things more personal.
    By far rolling beeswax is my favorite – I have used differnet colored wax, written petitions on paper and layered them inside. You can even put little charms in the layers. There is so much you can do.
    Oh and my favorite cheats for candles have been getting them on clearence and melting them down, when I want to change the color of the wax I use birthday candles. Hell I’ve even mealted a bunck of those to make little stubs. The best candle magic is usually when I soak in the tub and just let them burn. Nothing heavy, but very magical:)


Leave a Reply

