Fungi Trail


This was a fungi walk we had paid for which was held at Westonbirt Arboretum. The day didn’t start out well, as I was sick the night before and our hotel had no cold water when we woke up.

The cold water was sorted out in the end, but we both took it as a hint from Siannon, who had asked me to go and see our tribal tree that weekend or else. She didn’t actually say the “or else”, but that’s what I thought she meant. We went to see the tree the next day as we didn’t want water leaking all over the house, which has happened when I didn’t know I was ignoring her.

The walk was led by three experts, who showed us a few mushrooms and then said “right, we’re not going to give a talk, we’re just going to go out and find mushrooms”

I was lost when they started talking to us, as they dropped us in at the deep end and the only thing I knew about mushrooms was how to cook them. I had hoped that this talk would expand my knowledge. Instead it was all tramping about the woods, finding the odd mushroom and hearing some near-incomprehensible babble from the experts about names and such.

I did pick up a few things about mushrooms, but it was a waste of three hours.

1 Comment

  1. Sìle said,

    December 14, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    Oh dear. Must admit my experience with John Wright was almost the opposite.


Leave a Reply

