Fun in the Woods


Last Saturday we went into the woods for an Action Day, which consisted of coppicing hazel. The sun was out and shining, we saw a bumblebee, many ladybirds and a small rodent which hastily dashed from one pile of brush to another. One of the workers showed me the pond and some bee orchids. The orchids are only leaves at the moment, but I will be coming back to see them in flower later on.

I also saw three ladybirds on the hazel I was coppicing. Since three is a sacred number and they stayed the whole time on the hazel, there was obviously some significance to this. I looked them up on the net and saw the Irish belief that they take away ailments. I have noticed today that my ailments are a lot better.

Leave a Reply

