Death


Last Friday my mother-in-law died of a cerebral haemorrhage. This was unexpected and a shock, but what I have determined is that I am going to do my own ritual for her passing.

There will be a funeral service, but I am going to write my own. I’ve been to two funerals where everyone seemed to be going through the motions. The service didn’t have any feeling behind it and there was no celebration of the person’s life and achievements.

I want to celebrate that and say what a great person she was. This seems to be missing from modern British funerals.

Leave a Reply

