Beltane


Normally for Beltane I attempt to gather dew on a flannel and wash my face in it. I didn’t try it this year because I had to go to work and also because it has been raining so much lately I thought I wouldn’t get any dew. I had asked for rain at the Spring Equinox and since we’re in a drought condition it’s good to have it.

After work I gathered up my paraphernalia, went to the weeping willow and cast my circle.

Beltane is when the Milesians came to Ireland. They took over Ireland from the Tuatha Dé Danaan, eventually making an agreement that they would have the half of Ireland above ground and the Tuatha Dé Danaan would have the half of Ireland below ground.

When the leader of the Milesians, Amergin, set foot on Ireland, the first thing he did was to introduce himself to the land. Then he blessed the land with fertility and especially fish. So I introduced myself to the land, let some of my blood and asked for fertility for the land and for myself.

I looked at the ritual I’d written just before I was due to perform it. A lightbulb went on in my head and I realised what Amergin’s poems were about, so the ritual was a bit clumsy as I had to improvise at the last minute. Next year’s ritual will be better.

Leave a Reply

