Symbols


Symbols have power in their own right. This is because they have meanings from various cultures and the symbol represents all the meanings.

Recently I lost a charm from my charm bracelet. It was a four-leaved clover for luck and with it I’d had a lot of good things happen by coincidence. Whereas I noticed that these coincidences didn’t happen after I lost it. I meant to put a spell on it for good luck, but hadn’t got around to it.

The problem with a symbol is that it will embody all the meanings from all the cultures that it is a symbol in. You can’t pick and choose which meanings a symbol has.

This was brought home to me recently when I discussed my tattoo on a message board. The tattoo is a green dragon holding a sun, which I got before I became Pagan. It was mentioned to me that this has symbolism to do with healing (I’ve done an aromatherapy course) and Tai Chi, which I’ve also done, both after getting the tattoo. Neither of which symbols I meant the tattoo to represent.

If I was to get another tattoo I would be more careful of all the meanings of all the symbols I had tattooed on me.

6 Comments

  1. July 28, 2012 at 6:22 am

    But then symbols and omens can have conflicting meanings in different cultures, like in England, ravens tend to have a more negative meaning, but in the US, with Native Americans, they have a more trickster meaning, so wouldn’t you have to pick which meaning a symbol has? I raised a baby raven and now can no longer ever think of corvids as a negative symbol, since they so love to play, I have to think of them as tricksters though I don’t have a Native American philosophy set. So… even though four leaf clovers are pretty much about luck, what about a symbol that has conflicting meanings???? HMMM? 🙂 It’s me, Robyn, if you didn’t know.

    • July 28, 2012 at 6:25 am

      P.S. Some N.A.s believe that Raven brought wisdom and light, sort like a corvid Lucifer. I’m stuck with the trickster meaning as my baby liked to play a lot.

    • July 30, 2012 at 6:26 pm

      How could I not know it was you?

      I don’t see how the Irish symbology of the raven as a harbinger of death excludes the trickster symbology of the Native Americans.

      • Auntie Robyn said,

        July 30, 2012 at 7:08 pm

        That would be a problem between using two cultures for ME, do I look at ravens with dread of death or dread of trickster type bad luck? 🙂 But then maybe even numbers of ravens are more tricksterish and maybe the odd numbers are more symbols of death. I keep expecting them to talk back to me, like Marvin did. FEED ME! FEED ME!

  2. August 4, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    Sorry I took so long to get around to this, my life has far too much in it at the moment…

    Maybe you’re over-analysing things here. What do you feel about ravens?

    • August 5, 2012 at 10:01 pm

      I think they are tricksters and playful birds. I just can’t see them as bad omens anymore… I thought I was UNDER analyzing things! 🙂


Leave a Reply

