Old or New


In my path, I use objects or methods that go back centuries. Partly because my ancestors would have used them (except the charm bracelet, which is Egyptian) and this makes a connection to my ancestors in general.

I don’t use objects or methods just for the reason that my ancestors used or did things, as that wouldn’t be practical. If I had children and lived in an Irish long-house with cows and chickens in there, Social Services would be down on me like a ton of bricks. This is an extreme example, but you get the picture.

I also use old objects and methods because I believe that by being used down the centuries this gives them more power. They have been used by more people and I believe that the thing itself gains power and belief the more it is used.

I am not saying not to use new things as our practices must evolve and change with time. There may be no old object or method to use for something, or a new object or method may be better.

1 Comment

  1. September 21, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    Hello, I just found your blog more or less by accident. I just started doing something what you are doing for a long time now, so I will gladly read all your posts hoping to learn something about your Irish believes and the way you practise them. I especially like that you have your own path and you try to stay as close to ancestors believes as possible.

    I wish you good day! 🙂


Leave a Reply

