Autumn Equinox


For the Autumn Equinox ritual I dressed in blue, green and red, which are the colours of life and the light days to me. I said goodbye to the light days and took the clothes off. I then replaced them with red, black and white clothing, which are the colours of death, to say hello to the dark days and welcome them in.

Afterwards I ate apple and blackberry crumble to celebrate. I’d foraged for the blackberries a few days before. Crumble only goes back to World War II, but it’s now firmly a part of British culture and enshrined in the national consciousness. I just wish I’d been able to forage the apples instead of having to buy them.

Leave a Reply

