Depression


Last night I went to a talk at Treadwell’s about Depression in Paganism. The talk was structured with Christina Oakley-Harrington asking Cat, who was the speaker, questions about depression.

At first, the “Christianity is all about sacrifice” line was really starting to annoy me. I come from a Scottish Protestant background and Protestant crosses have no Jesus on them because they emphasise the fact that Jesus was raised, whereas Catholics emphasis that Jesus was sacrificed. It nearly got to the point where I stood up and said something, but thankfully the topics veered away from that.

Cat is a Pagan priest in Derbyshire and the rest of the talk centred on her experiences of depression, caused mainly by a divorce and loss of job at the same time. If your world crashes down around you, you will probably be depressed no matter how strong you are.

As someone who has beaten depression I enjoyed hearing about her experiences with depression and her way of dealing with things. I enjoyed the fact that she wasn’t afraid to stand up and say she has trouble with depression. So many people have been or are depressed and can’t speak about it.

I also enjoyed hearing about her service as a pagan priest and hospital chaplain. We do need people to fulfil that role, but I am glad I’m not called to do that.

Leave a Reply

