Geis


A geis is a prohibition which in ancient times was put on Irish heroes and kings. Other British countries may have had the same or similar prohibitions, but I tend to concentrate on Irish myths and legends.

I have accepted a geis laid down on me by one of my deities. It does not impact my life at present in any way; I questioned this, but was told that the point of it was that it was important to that deity that I obey this prohibition.

A friend of mine has accepted the geis of not eating red meat, which has really impacted her life.

I would not go looking to have a geis put on you, as in the old tales if you broke a geis you would die.

Leave a Reply

