Anti-Depressants


This is the first time I have written about something which is not specifically Pagan, but this is an important topic.

Firstly, I would like to say that I have been treated successfully with anti-depressants in the past for stress, depression and pain relief. I have never been addicted to anti-depressants. I talk about this freely and have only met one other person who has been addicted to anti-depressants and he was taking valium in the 70’s.

From talking to others, it was taking the pills and also doing other things to counteract the depression or stress that has worked. At times I have used techniques of forcing myself to get out of the house and other times I have written a list of five tasks I wanted to accomplish. The first one would be “get up” as at one point it was so difficult to do that I wasn’t able to get up until four o’clock and once I got up I felt better as I had accomplished something. Others may use counselling or other tools.

I was shocked to hear on a Pagan podcast recently someone saying that he’d said to his teacher that he needed to go back on anti-depressants and his teacher saying “hold off on that for a while”. This is the reason that I am writing this post. Whether or not you are on anti-depressants is between yourself and your doctor. Do not listen to anyone else, even if they are your teacher or the spirit of Gerald Gardner. If you feel you need them, go to your doctor.

1 Comment

  1. December 4, 2014 at 5:01 am

    Thank you so much. I’m a witch, a mental health advocate and also a person who needs medication to stabilize depression especially during winter. Witches with good judgment always protect their health, and if they know their stuff, they can learn how to use their magic together with their medical care for well rounded results. I don’t want to hear medical advice from a religious or spiritual teacher unless they’re also a licensed physician.


Leave a Reply

