Why I do Spells


Since I am a pagan as well as a witch, I could easily do rituals or petitions to the deities for what I desire. Instead of which, I am apt to do a spell.

I prefer using spells as it is difficult with deities of whom you have had little or no contact with. It’s not impossible and I did once sacrifice a third of my pay to Bodb Derg (who I have never met in meditation) for a good judgement, which I got.

I would describe it as like asking a favour of someone you barely know. If you do your homework and approach them in the correct way then they’ll say yes. Otherwise they’ll say no or ignore you.

5 Comments

  1. CB said,

    January 30, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    What is your opinion of reconstructionist groups such as Gaol Naofa that repudiate the use of the word “witch” for any Gaelic magical practices besides acts of maleficia?

  2. QuercusRobur said,

    January 31, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    I belonged to Gaol Naofa for a while and they are a good group, but I found them dry and bound to the past, so I left.

    I suspect they want to say “we don’t do witchcraft” rather like The Bishop of Glasgow several centuries ago cursing the cattle-rustlers.
    Just by changing the label e.g. witch does not mean that they do not do witchcraft by a lot of people’s definitions, it just means that they are fooling themselves.

    In the past people would come to witches for beneficient magic e.g. please heal my son, make me pregnant and so forth and so on.

    • crb2315 said,

      January 31, 2015 at 5:26 pm

      Thank you! Were you also with ITW? I was. It’s a shame that Eblanna Raven and Tealte didn’t write more. I discovered Gaol Naofa yesterday in the course of my researches. They seem VERY hung up on the dreaded “W” word. Like some other recon groups, the also seem eager to ingratiate themselves with aboriginal groups and indulge in creepy hyper-sensitivity/Political Correctness issues so as not to ‘alienate’ them with the word “witch” or whatever.

      • QuercusRobur said,

        February 2, 2015 at 9:38 pm

        Yes, I was with ITW. It’s a shame it folded, but ever since it went to a forum it had started to decline

  3. crb2315 said,

    January 31, 2015 at 5:50 pm

    The other thing I wanted to say about GN (I spent the bulk of yesterday reading their online materials) is that they have no patience or regard for cultural developments like “dual observance” or the fact that extra-Gaelic magical praxes trickled into Gaelic lands — just like they did in England, Cornwall, and Wales. I’ve spent nearly 20 years studying (in the academic sense) various forms of folk magic and witchery with special emphasis on Germanic folk magic. This is a pattern that I’ve seen all over Western and Northern Europe, and which found their way to the “New World”. I’ve also been following the writings of a practitioner called “Manxwytch” and s/he seems sure of the appropriateness of the word “witch” for what is traditionally practiced on the Isle of Man.


Leave a Reply

