Samhain


The day before Samhain I bought turnips for turnip lanterns and started carving them. As with everything, you get better with practice and this is no exception as I’m now able to do more detailed carving on the lanterns.

I made two; one for the front door and one for the back and put a protection spell on each. I’ve recently learnt that the protection spell isn’t needed, but since I went to all the trouble of writing it I’m going to keep using it.

I did a ritual where I honoured The Dagda and The Morrigan and gave tribute to the land, as the Tuatha De Danaan did to the Fomorri each Samhain. In the tales Samhain is a time of destruction, usually by fire, but I could not find a way of re-creating this. If I had researched into the festival more ahead of time instead of the day before I probably would have found something.

We also watched the Doctor Who classic “The Daemons” which was appropriate for Samhain even though the action takes place at Beltane! I don’t know why it was relocated in the script as they mention Samhain. This story also features a witch (who says she’s white) and is seen muttering a successful spell again the forces which are trying to knock her out.

I made Homity Pie and Apple Dappy, which are traditional foods my mother’s ancestors would have eaten and both have apples in them. I also try to use imperial measurements which I know they used as Mum taught to me cook using imperial. Converters can be found for free on the net, it’s just a matter of typing the amounts in.

I had trouble with the pie, as I was using gluten-free flour to make it for the first time as hubby has been put on this diet by his doctor’s surgery. If you roll the pastry out as normal when you try and put it in the receptacle it fragments. After three times trying this I just bunged it in and stuck it together with water. It worked, but I’ll try making more pastry and making it thicker next time.

Leave a Reply

