What I’m Working on


At the moment I’m working on a quatrain (an Irish poem with four lines, polysyllabic rhyming and other constraints) for the Midwinter Solstice. I wassail the trees at the Midwinter Solstice and this is to help, as the wassailers would sing something to the tree.

I find rhyming difficult, but on the other hand if I write a spell, it means that I really need it. I try not to consult rhyming dictionaries, as I’m of the opinion that it doesn’t help me build skills in rhyming, but I will do if I’m stuck.

There are some good free ones on the net, but one unforeseen problem is that I’m British and some of the dictionaries are American English. For example, an American English dictionary gives myrtle as a rhyme for fertile. In British English we pronounce the e at the end of fertile (fer-tile) so it will not rhyme with myrtle for us. In American English they don’t pronounce the e at the end of fertile (fer-til) so it does rhyme with myrtle.

Leave a Reply

