Midwinter Solstice


I realise that it’s a couple of weeks since the Midwinter Solstice, but I’ve been busy with Christmas preparations, social activities and sleeping as I’m in my third trimester and very tired.

As you know, I usually cast a circle with jars which contain milk, salt and a candle. For more information, search for my blog post on circle casting. This time I couldn’t do it as my pregnancy makes it very difficult to bend down. So I resorted to just drawing a circle on the ground. It worked just as well, but I prefer to use the milk, salt and candle method, especially as it makes a physical boundary which is easier to see.

I did my usual ritual and afterwards wassailed the elder tree in my back garden. I usually wassail all the guardian trees in the district, but again pregnancy prevented this so I did a symbolic wassailing for all of them.

Leave a Reply

