Religion


As a pagan, I think we who live in Britain have it easy.

While religion is not a taboo subject, if it’s mentioned people will move off the subject quickly. On one hand this is a shame as it’s difficult to have a decent discussion about what people believe. On the other hand, we don’t have people shoving their religion down our necks, except for those who proselytise at the door.

This means that I can keep quiet about what I believe until people get to know me and accept me for who I am and not shy away from me because of my religion.

While I have not suffered discrimination myself, I cannot say it does not exist as there were the cases in Orkney and Scarborough in the ‘80’s of pagan children being removed from their families. Only one child was not returned and no restitution made to the families for their distress. I would not admit to social workers that I was pagan.

However, in general we are not in danger of being attacked for our religion unlike other countries in the world.

Leave a Reply

