Disagreeing


I am writing this article as a result of having a disagreement on a Facebook group where someone is trying to convert me to her way of thinking.

The disagreement is that I think that only certain trees are sacred, whereas she thinks that all trees are sacred. It’s the sort of argument where either party could be correct, yet as far as she is concerned I have to come round to her point of view.

Sometimes there are arguments where one party is plainly wrong. For example, if I said that Brigit was Donn’s sister I would be wrong. Both are Irish deities, but Brigit is of the Tuatha De Danaan, whereas Donn is a Milesian.

However, there are many arguments where what is being argued is the philosophy and the interpretation of data and I may change my mind at some point in time to the opposing stance.

Leave a Reply

