Relationship with Deity


I originally wrote this to answer a friend’s Facebook query, but thought it would make a good post so I’m reproducing it with some slight alterations to make it read better.

It may have been only priest/esses who had a personal relationship with deity, but when paganism was reviving there were no priest/esses. In order for belief to be revived, deities would have to contact people personally, especially as the structure for supporting said priest/esses financially to be priest/esses is no longer there. Also I suspect that deities are adhering to the way things are done in the modern day (deities having a personal interest in people) which didn’t start in the modern Church until the Protestant Reformation, which (in my opinion) did it to stop the Church having so much power over ordinary people.

Unfortunately we get a lot of pagans who represent deity as something that they’re not. In my opinion some of these are people who the deities have tested and failed, although some will be nutters or special snowflakes. Once I was doing a meditation and had Herne the Hunter turn up. It was an Irish sort of meditation so I gave him a hard stare and told him he wasn’t Herne the Hunter. It was Angus Og mucking around and I wonder how many he’s conned who didn’t know better.

For those who are not into deity, I’m telling you a few of my experiences to show you that some people have real experiences with deity and not all of them are nice.

The first was with The Morrigan. I was in serious trouble at work and I prayed for help. A thought instantly came into my head to contact the union, which had just started up at work. I went to the local union rep, who told me to join the union and they’d represent me. I didn’t learn until much later that he shouldn’t have done that, the union rules were that they couldn’t help anyone who was not in the union at the time of trouble and he should have told me he couldn’t represent me and sent me away. Two and a half years later I walked out of there with £7K in redundancy plus shares. My rep later told me that he’d overheard my boss’ boss say “Fiona’s off with stress, let’s get her out of here”.

The second was with Siannon. For fifteen years I rented various properties and in all of them something went wrong with water. I had it all : showers and toilets leaking and in one case the circuit board of the shower went on fire! This started before I became pagan, so I didn’t think about it until my normally very cautious now-husband left the taps on in the bath and flooded our flat and the two below it. I meditated and got Siannon. A while later, she wanted me to do something for her. We were going away for a day and staying overnight, so I said I’d do it soon. The hotel we were staying was 300 years old and was fine when we went to bed that night. The next morning we woke up to no cold water. This was just us. We were transferred to another room which had enough cold water so we could wash etc and then it ran out. The poor manager was having kittens in case the kitchen was affected (it had happened once before) but we were the only ones affected. Nowadays, when Siannon says “jump” I ask “how high”.

The latest was with Brigit. She asked me to follow her and I wasn’t keen, but I said that if she gave me a child I would do so. At that time we had tried for two years with one miscarriage and had been trying for a further two years after that. I was forty-two years old and had been refused IVF because of age and being too fat. She gave me a son and now I follow her. I’m still not keen, but I have to uphold my end of the bargain.

Leave a comment